Looking Back… 2014 Painting Project!

2014 Painting Project ngb

This past summer, I was finally able to begin the long overdue project of painting the interior of my home. I originally was going to just do the entry and front hallway, but once I started, it was hard to stop. Over the course of about 3 months, I painted our entry & hallway, kitchen, powder room, guest bedroom, living room, music room, boys’ bedroom, girls’ bedroom, family/homeschool room, sunroom, and most of the laundry room. While it took lots of time and effort, the results are very exciting.

And I have to give a big thanks to a talented friend of mine who gave me paint color advice, decorating inspiration, and encouragement to keep going. I could never have done it without her. I have never had a decorating bone in my body, but this friend is teaching me, and I think I might actually be learning a little bit! My husband and children also helped out with painting ceilings, taping molding, and cutting in. Also, my dad so kindley changed out several light fixtures for us. I am so thankful for all the help, everyone!

Here are some before and after photos from a few of the rooms:

Entryway

This was the first space I painted and I had no idea what color to paint it. The walls of the whole house were a grayish shade of white, so I wanted COLOR! Around the time I was thinking about what color to use, I visited a very dear friend’s home and just loved the green color that was in her hallway. I never would have chosen green on my own, but this color has been lovely. I painted the inside of the front door white and also changed out the gold color light fixture for a brushed nickel one. (Thanks, Dad!) The difference is subtle in the picture, but it has made a huge difference in the entry area of my home.

Before:

Entryway Before

 

After!

Entryway After

Guest Room —-> Music/Reading Room:

We made lots of changes here! This is the room that you see straight ahead when you walk in the front door. I always thought it was a little funny for that to be a bedroom, so we’ve changed it into a room for piano playing and a quiet spot for reading.

I painted the walls a soft yellow and changed out the brass/wood ceiling fan for a simple white one. I used the bedspread (duvet cover) that you see on the bed in the “before” picture to make the curtains you see in the “after” picture. We found a good home for the cherry bedroom furniture. It was in good condition, but it’s just not at all my style. Then we moved in two items that we already own: a piano that had been in the living room and an old red loveseat that we’ve had for years. (Actually, that red loveseat was my great-grandmother’s!)

Before:

Guest Bedroom Before 1 ngb

After!

Music Room After 1 ngb

 

Kitchen:

The kitchen is such a high-traffic area, that it was badly in need of a fresh coat of paint. I painted the kitchen a serene blue color, changed out the gold colored light fixture for a brushed nickel one, and put up curtains instead of vertical blinds. (I also cleared off the counter for the “after” photo! 😉 )

Before:    

Kitchen Before 1 ngb

 After:

 Kitchen After 1 ngb

So this year I’m planning to paint my bedroom, but that’s not the BIG PROJECT for 2015. I’ll let you know what that is soon!

So did you have any big projects you worked on in 2014? I’d love for you to comment and let me know!

Blessings,

Noel 🙂

5 thoughts on “Looking Back… 2014 Painting Project!

  1. Wow! Beautiful job! That was a lot of work. One question…how do you do it all? A dedicated wife, mom, teacher, etc., etc. and now a decorator, painter! You are inspiring!

    Like

  2. Wish I had your talent and your energy! Everything is beautiful–excellent choice of colors. All are very soft and comforting, and offer a respite from the “white” that so many of us have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

